Scaled and Icy- Ranking Twenty One Pilots new record

Chloé Tongue
6 min readJun 1, 2021

--

The conflict at Trench between Clancy and Blurryface is over, and it’s time for a new era. Clancy is dead with it being clearly shown in this new album with ‘Scaled And Icy’ being an anagram for this.

Upbeat, bouncy and fun, the 2021 album Scaled And Icy has replaced the dark greens, blacks and reds we have seen in the previous albums of this concept series with bright pinks, blues and yellows.

Fans know, as much as these are concept albums that take place in an imaginary universe, the songs and records represent singer Tyler Joseph’s state of mind too. It seems he is transitioning from ‘for now I will stay alive’ (Leave The City from Trench) to ‘today’s a good day, you never know when the next one will show’. (Good Day from Scaled and Icy) It seems he is happy and he knows it will not last but he is finally appreciating the happiness while it’s here.

Like all good albums, you have to listen to it a few times to capture each song’s unique rhythm and tone. For me, this album definitely will grow on me and possibly be in my top 3 albums of Twenty One Pilots. This is my own ranking of the new songs:

1. Shy Away

The first single released for this new era and it did not disappoint. It has a very 80’s pop feel to it but still with their alternative take on it. As it was the first song released and therefore the song I’ve listened to the most, I probably know it the most and feel like it’s the best song. I expect this to change but I definitely think this will remain in the top three of this album.

2. Never take it

Tyler’s voice in this song can get very powerful at times. This is a song where I love the verses and the chorus just as equal. This song feels strong and consistent throughout. I also love the build up to the chorus and it just seems to flow.

It’s speculated that this song is about Journalists spreading false news with the line ‘Keep the truth in quotations ’cause they keep lying through their fake teeth’. With keeping this in mind, it makes it a very interesting listen.

3. Choker

I love the beat in this song, not one of the most positive songs on this record because of its lyrics but still upbeat. I actually wasn’t that excited about this song when it came out as a single but it does have a range of interesting elements in it. The part with just Tyler and the piano I love. And the rap at the end reminds me of ‘Vessel’. Also this is very specific but I love the short hum of ‘mhm’. I like the powerful build ups this song has too.

4. Formidable

This was originally ranked at the bottom but every time I listen to it, it keeps climbing up the ranking. It feels like a very simple song that is stripped back and therefore not as ‘ear-catching’ as the others but still a really nice flowing song.

5. Redecorate

This song will excite a lot of fans with all the verses being rapped. This song has some sad undertones to it which makes it a very interesting listen.

Tyler also revealed the inspiration behind this song was that he has a friend whose son passed away and they kept his room exactly as he left it. This made him wonder how difficult it must be for families to make these decisions about keeping belongings and wanted to write a song about this delicate subject.

6. Good day

You can’t help feeling happy when listening to this song despite some of the lyrics not being positive. I think that’s the whole point. This song is about you can’t help feeling happy even if things around you aren’t going well.

When Tyler says, ‘I know it’s hard to believe me. It’s a good day’. I feel like he is talking about his own mental health being good, rather than what actually happened in that day. Some refer to their mental health as having ‘good days’ and ‘bad days’ and I feel like this is what this song is about.

7. Saturday

Saturday feels like the most mainstream song that I predict the radio stations will keep playing. I enjoy it as a pop song but I don’t think it really has TOP vibes. But I also love the part where it pauses for a split second and then drops to the chorus.

This song is also the complete opposite of Migraine in ‘Vessel’. Saturday is all about celebration and enjoyment, whereas in Migraine he points out the depression that hits on a Sunday: ‘’Cause Fridays will always be better than Sundays ’cause Sundays are my suicide days’. Once again Joseph is focusing on the positives, rather than pointing out the negatives. Also Saturday shares a conversation Tyler and his wife has on the phone and he wants to watch ‘Friends’ with her so that goes up in my good books.

8. Bounce Man

Reminds me of Vessel at times. Love how the chorus flows but the verses didn’t feel as catchy. In some songs this highlights how good the chorus is but I feel like for it to have been higher in my rankings it needed to be good in both chorus and verse. I love the lyrics and the flow of the line, ‘You should bounce, bounce, bounce man, Come to the house, man, I’ll let my old lady know’.

9. The Outside

I really like the build up of the chorus but I think when he says ‘Kids will take my vibes, or am I on the outside’ it feels a bit dragged out. This is a song that keeps going down in my rankings but I reckon it will go back up again at some point. It’s catchy but just not as satisfying for the ears.

10. Mulberry Street

I do love the line ‘keep your bliss, there’s nothing wrong with this’. I think the main reason I ranked this so low is because I saw all the song titles before listening to them and this excited me the most but I felt a little disappointed. Feel like the chorus is a little generic. However, I do love the slow piano bit, it reminds me a lot of their self-titled album which I will always love. The overall beat is so fun and I think I will eventually like this one a lot more.

11. No Chances

This was a tricky decision. I honestly believe no song deserves to be at the bottom of the list but it had to be one of them. Reminds me of songs from Trench. I like the deep voice saying ‘We come for you. No chances.’ I like the rapping and I’m surprised I didn’t like this more because most of my favourite TOP songs are their older, rap ones like Holding Onto You.

Overall, I do think, like the Blurryface album, it will bring a whole new batch of fans because of the upbeat sound. I have to give credit to Twenty One Pilots for always producing music for their fans, rather than just trying desperately to get in the charts and therefore produce generic, somewhat hollow songs. *cough cough* Maroon 5. TOP has brought a fresh new sound that is perfect for the Summer and will definitely be something I will listen to for years to come.

--

--